The wrong time to daydream

by JC

There was moment this morning, while I was copying out a book by hand, in which I suddenly felt completely mindless. I noticed I was daydreaming, and I suddenly became aware of the fact that I was just ‘going through the motions’, and not actually learning. It frightened me. The whole point of copying, of course, is to deliberately become a more skilled writer.  Yet even though deliberate practice is meant to be difficult, I’ve come to find this daily hour relaxing. Realizing that I was hardly even thinking scared me. If I’m not actively thinking and learning, what the heck am I getting out of this hour I spend every morning?

The takeaway question: Are there any activities in your life that have become mindless? Is there anything in which you’ve begun ‘going through the motions’ without realizing it?

